Haldimand-Norfolk moving to Orange – Restrict


SIMCOE – Haldimand-Norfolk will be moving to the Orange – Restrict on Tuesday, February 16 as Ontario begins to reopen in the Covid-19 Response Framework.

The move, made in consultation with Ontario’s Chief Medical Officer of Health, is transitioning 27public health regions out of the shutdown and into a revised and strengthened COVID-19 Response Framework: Keeping Ontario Safe and Open . It was based on a general improvement in trends of key indicators, including lower transmission of COVID-19, improving hospital capacity, and available public health capacity to conduct rapid case and contact management. 

Haldimand-Norfolk public health unit region will be moving back to Orange-Restrict within the Framework on Tuesday, February 16, 2021 at 12:01 a.m. and will no longer be subject to the Stay-at-Home order. Check with your local public health unit and municipality for any additional advice, recommendations or instructions.

With these measures, Haldimand-Norfolk moves to Orange-Restrict as outlined in O. Reg. 364/20 and the above response framework link. Businesses or organizations must operate in compliance with regulatory requirements and the advice, recommendations and instructions of public health officials, including any advice, recommendations or instructions on physical distancing, cleaning or disinfecting. If you have questions about what will be open or impacts to your business or employment, call the Stop the Spread Business Information Line at 1-888-444-3659. In addition to provincial restrictions, local health units can implement restrictions above or beyond those of the province. 

In surrounding health units, Brant County Health Unit is also in Orange – Restrict, Southwestern Public Health is in Red – Control and Niagara Region Public Health is in Grey – Lockdown.

The full breakdown is:


  • Niagara Region Public Health  


  • Chatham-Kent Public Health;   
  • City of Hamilton Public Health Services;  
  • Durham Region Health Department;  
  • Halton Region Public Health;  
  • Middlesex-London Health Unit; 
  • Region of Waterloo Public Health and Emergency Services;  
  • Simcoe-Muskoka District Health Unit; 
  • Southwestern Public Health; 
  • Thunder Bay District Health Unit;  
  • Wellington-Dufferin Guelph Public Health; and  
  • Windsor-Essex County Health Unit.  


  • Brant County Health Unit;  
  • Eastern Ontario Health Unit;   
  • Haldimand-Norfolk Health Unit;   
  • Haliburton, Kawartha, Pine Ridge District Health Unit;  
  • Huron Perth Public Health;   
  • Lambton Public Health;  
  • Ottawa Public Health;   
  • Porcupine Health Unit; and
  • Public Health Sudbury and Districts.


  • Algoma Public Health;  
  • Grey Bruce Health Unit;   
  • Northwestern Health Unit; and  
  • Peterborough Public Health. 


  • Leeds, Grenville and Lanark District Health Unit; and  
  • Timiskaming Health Unit.  

The four remaining public health regions, Toronto Public Health, Peel Public Health, York Region Public Health and North Bay Parry Sound District, will remain in the shutdown, and the Stay-at-Home order and all existing public health and workplace safety measures will continue to apply to these four public health regions.    


For more information, contact MPP Toby Barrett at 519-428-0446 or toby.barrett@pc.ola.org