Haldimand-Norfolk moving to Yellow – Protect


SIMCOE – Haldimand-Norfolk will be moving to Yellow – Protect on Monday, March 1 as Ontario continues to reopen within the Covid-19 Response Framework.

Details of the move, made in consultation with Ontario’s Chief Medical Officer of Health, can be found at https://news.ontario.ca/en/release/60489/ontario-activates-emergency-brake-in-thunder-bay-district-health-unit-and-simcoe-muskoka-district-healt Haldimand-Norfolk’s move was based on a general improvement in trends of key indicators, including lower transmission of COVID-19 and available public health capacity to conduct rapid case and contact management. 

“Wearing masks and staying home does have a beneficial impact on limiting transmission,” said Haldimand-Norfolk MPP Toby Barrett. “I want to commend everyone for doing their part in helping us move to the Yellow – Protect category.”

Haldimand-Norfolk public health unit region will be moving back to Yellow -Protect within the Framework on Monday, March 1, 2021 at 12:01 a.m. Under yellow, changes include an increase the size of gatherings in certain circumstances, six people can be seated together in restaurants, and bars can be open until 11 p.m. Check with your local public health unit and municipality for any additional advice, recommendations or instructions.

The measures for Yellow -Protect are outlined in O. Reg. 364/20. Businesses or organizations must operate in compliance with regulatory requirements and the advice, recommendations and instructions of public health officials, including any advice, recommendations or instructions on physical distancing, cleaning or disinfecting. If you have questions about what will be open or impacts to your business or employment, call the Stop the Spread Business Information Line at 1-888-444-3659. In addition to provincial restrictions, local health units can implement restrictions above or beyond those of the province. 

Public health unit regions that will be moving to a new category on March 1 include:



  • Niagara Region Public Health.


  • Chatham-Kent Public Health;  
  • Middlesex-London Health Unit;
  • Southwestern Public Health.


  • Haldimand-Norfolk Health Unit
  • Huron Perth Public Health.


  • Grey Bruce Health Unit.


For more information, contact MPP Toby Barrett at 519-428-0446 or [email protected]